Mar 23, 2020 7:03 PM

Northwest's McCollum, Hawkins & Hudgins earn NABC All-District honors

Posted Mar 23, 2020 7:03 PM

The National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) announced today the 2020 NABC Coaches' Division II All-District teams and coaches, recognizing the best men's collegiate basketball student-athletes and coaches in the division. Selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC in NCAA Division II, these 88 student-athletes represent the finest basketball players across America.

Northwest Missouri State's Ryan Hawkins and Trevor Hudgins each were named to the Central Distric First Team. Bearcat head coach Ben McCollum garnered his third career NABC Central District Coach of the Year honor. He previously won the award in 2017 and 2019.

Hudgins (Manhattan, Kansas) led the nation in three-point field goal percentage (53.3% - 105-of-197). Hudgins averaged 19.6 points per game, 6.0 assists per game and 1.5 steals per game Hudgins has already earned first-team all-MIAA, first-team D2CCA all-region, D2CCA region player of the year, MIAA Player of the Year and the Most Outstanding Player at the 2020 MIAA Tournament. Hudgins had 18 20-point scoring games to go along with four 30-point scoring contests. He collected the school's first triple-double with 10 points, 11 rebounds and 11 assists vs. Fort Hays State (Jan. 25). His 626 points this season ranks as the sixth-most for a Bearcat in a single season. His 191 assists in 2019-2020 ranks as the second-best total in Bearcat history behind his mark of 203 set last season.

Hawkins (Atlantic, Iowa) led the Bearcats in scoring at 22.7 per game, in rebounding at 7.4 per contest, in steals at 2.1 per game and in blocks at 0.8 per game. Hawkins collected eight double-doubles, reached 30 or more points on five occasions and posted 20 20-point scoring contests. Hawkins set the Bearcat single-game scoring record with 44 against Southern Nazarene on Nov. 2. The Atlantic, Iowa, native was selected as the MIAA's Defensive Player of the Year for the second straight season, while also being tabbed a first-team all-MIAA performer. Hawkins poured in 726 points in the 2019-2020 season, which ranks as the third-most points ever scored by a Bearcat in a single season. He is one of only four Bearcats to ever score 700 or more points in a season.

McCollum guided the Bearcats to a 31-1 record, the MIAA regular season championship and the MIAA postseason tournament crown in 2019-2020. Northwest has won seven consecutive MIAA regular season titles and five straight MIAA tournament crowns. The Bearcats led the nation in three-point field goal percentage at 45.7% (359-of-785). The Bearcats were ranked No. 1 in the final NABC and D2CCA national polls in 2019-2020.

Kevin Buckingham, Southeastern Oklahoma
Jhonathan Dunn, Southern Nazarene
Ryan Hawkins, Northwest Missouri State
Trevor Hudgins, Northwest Missouri State
Cam Martin, Missouri Southern State
Brandon Myer, UM Duluth

Coach of the Year: Ben McCollum, Northwest Missouri State

Tyrell Carroll, Missouri Western
Harrison Cleary, UM Crookston
Parker Fox, Northern State
Cameron Kirksey, Minnesota State
Micah Speight, Southern Nazarene

--- Northwest Athletics ---

Continue Reading St Joseph Post
Mar 23, 2020 7:03 PM
Jayhawks' Azubuike & Dotson Named USBWA All-Americans

INDIANAPOLIS – Kansas senior Udoka Azubuike and sophomore Devon Dotson were each named to the 2020 U.S. Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) All-America Team, the USBWA announced Monday. Azubuike was a first-team honoree, while Dotson received second-team recognition.

Azubuike and Dotson give Kansas a USBWA All-America selection each of the last four seasons. Last year, Dedric Lawson was a third-team selection, while Devonte’ Graham was a first-team choice in 2018. In 2017, Frank Mason III was a first-team honoree and the Oscar Robertson Trophy recipient as the USBWA’s national player of the year. In KU head coach Bill Self’s 17 seasons at Kansas, there have been 14 Jayhawks named to USBWA All-America teams (see below).

Azubuike, a senior from Delta, Nigeria, led Division I in field goal percentage at 74.8%, which helped his career percentage of 74.4% break the all-time Division I field goal percentage record of UCF’s Tacko Fall (74.0%). Azubuike led the Big 12 in rebounding (10.5 rpg) and double-doubles (15) and was second in the conference for blocked shots at 2.6 per game. A unanimous All-Big 12 First Team selection who was named Big 12 Player of the Year, Azubuike was the only player in the conference to average a double-double (13.7 ppg, 10.5 rpg).

Dotson led the Big 12 in scoring at 18.1 ppg, steals (2.1) and free throws made (142). The Charlotte, N.C., sophomore guard ranked among the Big 12 leaders in 20-point games (second at 9), field goal percentage (second at 46.8), free throw percentage (fifth at 83.0), assists (fifth at 4.0) and assist-to-turnover ratio (fifth at 1.7). Dotson became just the fifth Jayhawk to lead the Big 12 in scoring joining Drew Gooden in 2002, Wayne Simien in 2005, Frank Mason III in 2017 and Dedric Lawson in 2019. This season, Dotson was an All-Big 12 First Team (unanimous selection), a Bob Cousy Award Point Guard of the Year Award Finalist, USBWA All-District VI. He has amassed 986 career points in only two seasons at Kansas.

--- KU Athletics ---