Mar 21, 2020 3:31 PM

Eight Missouri Western basketball players earn MIAA academic awards

Posted Mar 21, 2020 3:31 PM

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The MIAA announced its Academic Awards for the 2019-2020 men's and women's basketball seasons. Over 140 men's and women's student-athletes were recognized for their classroom achievements including more than 10 who achieved Academic Excellence and nearly 20 that qualified as Scholar-Athletes.

Eight Griffons received recognition from their efforts in the classroom. First year and transfer athletes will be recognized at the end of the academic year. The list goes as follows:


Jason Jones, Will Eames, Tony Chukwuemeke, Beau Baker, Zach Anderson, Jonathan Mesmacque, Kameron Freemyer, Katrina Roenfeldt


Katrina Roenfeldt

--- MWSU Athletics ---

Continue Reading St Joseph Post
Mar 21, 2020 3:31 PM
KU's Azubuike, Dotson named Second Team AP All-Americans

LAWRENCE, Kan. – Kansas senior Udoka Azubuike and sophomore Devon Dotson were each named Associated Press All-America Second Team, the AP announced Friday. The Associated Press All-America Team was selected and voted on by a media panel of 65.

Azubuike and Dotson gives Kansas an Associated Press All-America selection each of the last five seasons. Last year, Dedric Lawson was a third-team selection, while Devonte’ Graham was a first-team choice in 2018. Frank Mason III (first) and Josh Jackson (third) were named in 2017 with Mason being named 2017 Associated Press Player of the Year. Perry Ellis was a second-team selection in 2016. In head coach Bill Self’s 17 seasons at Kansas, there have been 18 Jayhawks named to the Associated Press All-America teams (see below).

Azubuike, a senior from Delta, Nigeria, led Division I in field goal percentage at 74.8%, which helped his career percentage of 74.4% break the all-time Division I field goal percentage record of UCF’s Tacko Fall (74.0%). Azubuike led the Big 12 in rebounding (10.5 rpg) and double-doubles (15) and was second in the conference for blocked shots at 2.6 per game. A unanimous All-Big 12 First Team selection who was named Big 12 Player of the Year, Azubuike was the only player in the conference to average a double-double (13.7 ppg, 10.5 rpg).

Dotson led the Big 12 in scoring at 18.1 ppg, steals (2.1) and free throws made (142). The Charlotte, N.C., sophomore guard ranked among the Big 12 leaders in 20-point games (second at 9), field goal percentage (second at 46.8), free throw percentage (fifth at 83.0), assists (fifth at 4.0) and assist-to-turnover ratio (fifth at 1.7). Dotson became just the fifth Jayhawk to lead the Big 12 in scoring joining Drew Gooden in 2002, Wayne Simien in 2005, Frank Mason III in 2017 and Dedric Lawson in 2019. This season, Dotson was an All-Big 12 First Team (unanimous selection), a Bob Cousy Award Point Guard of the Year Award Finalist, USBWA All-District VI. He has amassed 986 career points in only two seasons at Kansas.

Associated Press All-America Selections Under Bill Self (since 2003-04)

Season – Name (AP team)

2020 – Udoka Azubuike (2nd); Devon Dotson (2nd)

2019 – Dedric Lawson (3rd)

2018 – Devonte’ Graham (1st)

2017 – Frank Mason III (1st; AP Player of the Year); Josh Jackson (3rd)

2016 – Perry Ellis (2nd)

2014 – Andrew Wiggins (2nd)

2013 – Ben McLemore (2nd); Jeff Withey (3rd)

2012 – Thomas Robinson (1st); Tyshawn Taylor (3rd)

2011 – Marcus Morris (2nd)

2010 – Sherron Collins (2nd); Cole Aldrich (3rd)

2009 – Sherron Collins (3rd)

2005 – Wayne Simien (1st)

2004 – Wayne Simien (3rd)

--- KU Athletics ---