Mar 16, 2020 2:17 AM

Northwest's Hawkins, Hudgins named to Bevo Francis top 25 watch list

Posted Mar 16, 2020 2:17 AM

Kansas City, MO – Small College Basketball and the National Awards Committee are excited to announce the Top 25 watch list for the 2020 Bevo Francis Award. This list consists of some of the top players from NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III, NAIA Division I, NAIA Division II, USCAA and NCCAA. John McCarthy had this to say about this year's Top 25 watch list.

Northwest Missouri State's Ryan Hawkins (Atlantic, Iowa) and Trevor Hudgins (Manhattan, Kansas) were each named to the 2020 Bevo Francis Award Top 25 watch list. The Bearcat duo were earlier named first-team all-MIAA selections after helping lead Northwest to a 31-1 record that included MIAA regular season and tournament titles.

"On behalf of the National Awards Committee, I congratulate the 25 players that have made the Bevo Francis Watch List of 25 players. Clearly, this is a highly prestigious group of players that have helped lead their teams to great heights. It is important to note that this is an individual award, yet team success is an important criteria; as such, all of the players on this list have helped to lead their team to their respective national tournament and all of these teams have won more than 20 games, with more than half of them winning 25 games or more. These players are the elite of the elite, and I sincerely congratulate each and every one of them."

The Clarence "Bevo" Francis Award is presented annually to the player who has had the finest overall season within Small College Basketball. Considerations will be season statistics and individual achievements, awards, personal character and team achievements. This is an incredibly prestigious award, as this award will only be given to one player within Small College Basketball per season.

2020 marks the fifth year of the Bevo Francis Award. Past winners include Dominez Burnett of Davenport University in 2016, Justin Pitts of Northwest Missouri State University in 2017, Emanuel Terry of Lincoln Memorial University in 2018, and Aston Francis of Wheaton College in 2019. John McCarthy had this to add about this year's award.

On April 4th, the finalist of this year's award will be announced, followed by the Bevo Francis Award winner being crowned on April 6th. To stay up to date on all things Small College Basketball, please head to

2019-20 Bevo Francis Award Top 25 Watch List
Buzz Anthony 5'11" Jr. Randolph-Macon
Dalton Bolon 6'4" Jr. West Liberty
Chris Coffey 6'7" Sr. Georgetown
Ben College 6'1" Sr. Whitworth
Zaccheus Darko-Kelly 6'6" Jr. Providence (MT)
Jhonathan Dunn 6'4" Sr. Southern Nazarene
Mitchell Fink 6'1" Sr. Oregon Tech
Qua Grant 6'1" So. West Texas A&M
Brett Hanson 6'2" Sr. Florida Southern
Ryan Hawkins 6'7" Jr. Northwest Missouri State
Trevor Hudgins 6'1" So. Northwest Missouri State
Tra'Quan Knight 6'3" Sr. LSU-Shreveport
Kyle Mangas 6'3" Jr. Indiana Wesleyan
Cam Martin 6'9" Jr. Missouri Southern
Mark Matthews 6'6" Sr. Nova Southeastern
Selom Mawugbe 6'10" Sr. Azusa Pacific
Courvoisier McCauley 6'5" So. Lincoln Memorial
Deshawn Munson 6'4" Jr. Harris-Stowe
Joel Murray 6'0" So. West Texas A&M
Nic Reed 6'5" Sr. Olivet Nazarene
Tyrell Roberts 5'11" So. UC-San Diego
Jake Ross 6'4" Sr. Springfield (MA)
Andrew Sischo 6'9" Jr. Daemen
Ryan Turell 6'7" So. Yeshiva
Nate West 5'10" Sr. LeTourneau

--- Northwest Athletics ---

Continue Reading St Joseph Post
Mar 16, 2020 2:17 AM
MEC announces All-Conference basketball selections

Wes Brandsgaard – Chillicothe
Kolten Griffin – Lafayette
Tate Oglesby – Maryville
Chol Ater – Benton
CJ Pfaff – Chillicothe
Michael Morgan – St. Pius X
Brayden Luikart – Lafayette
Wes Darnell – Savannah
Chris Guldan – Bishop LeBlond
Allan Coy – Benton

Nick Helmich – Cameron
Ben Walker – Maryville
Quay Jeter – Savannah
Caden Stoecklein – Maryville
TJ Alexander – Lafayette
Malique Bennett – Benton
Marc Gustafson – Maryville
Chase Spoonemore – Savannah
Chase Wilcox – St. Pius X
Bradley Riley – Chillicothe
Ian Riley - Cameron

** Serena Sundell – Maryville
Laini Joseph – Cameron
Hunter Keithley – Chillicothe
Natalie Rippy – St. Pius X
Kianna Herrera – Benton
Jordan Hibner – Chillicothe
Mia Simone – St. Pius X
Anastyn Pettlon – Maryville
Jaida Cox – Benton
Rylee Benight – Savannah
Kaitlyn Smith – Cameron
** Denotes Unanimous Selection

Ashley Hall – St. Pius X
Rylee Vierthaler – Maryville
Essie Hicks – Chillicothe
Tatum Studer – Bishop LeBlond
Darcy Bowlin – Lafayette
Peyton Anderson – Benton
Kate Parrish – St. Pius X
Molly Renshaw – Maryville
Olivia Moore – Cameron
Jessica Reeter – Chillicothe
Juliann Smith – Bishop LeBlond
Lexi Jones - Savannah