Nov 06, 2019 2:34 AM

MINK League adds two teams for 2020 season

Posted Nov 06, 2019 2:34 AM

The MINK league is excited to announce the addition of two teams for the 2020 Season. 

The Des Moines Prospects and Chanute will be joining the league. The Prospects, headed by co-owners Eric Evans will join the North Division. Chanute is headed up by Kansas City businessman Titus Bond. Chanute, which is currently holding a name the team contest in the community will join the South Division. Additionally, the Sedalia Bombers will be moving from the North to the South Division.

“We are thrilled about the two new additions to the league, Mickey Mantle played his first ever professional baseball game at Katy Park in Chanute, where the team will be playing. Des Moines will be bringing a brand new stadium into the league, we are excited to welcome both teams and communities into the league,`` says League President, Ky Turner. In addition, the Ozark Generals will no longer be a member of the MINK League moving forward. The league will be playing with 9 teams in 2020.  

The MINK League playoffs will change for the 2020 season. The top team in the North and South Divisions will receive a first round bye and will retain the 1 and 2 seeds throughout the whole playoffs. The remaining teams will be seeded 3-6 and will be determined by overall record. The 3 seed will host the 6 seed, while the 4 seed will host the 5 seed, in a one game playoff. Winners of these games will then face the division winners in the MINK League Semifinals, both games will be a one game playoff. The winners of these games will compete in a best of three series for the MINK League Championship.

The 2020 MINK League All-Star Game and Home Run Derby will take place in Chillicothe, MO on Thursday, July 9th, 2020. Ron Rodriguez has been reelected as the League Commissioner, as has St. Joseph Mustangs’ Ky Turner as the League President. Edwina Rains with the Joplin Outlaws has also been reelected as the League Treasure, while Steve Dullard from the Jefferson City Renegades retained his position as Vice President. League play will kick off no later than May 29th, 2020.

Continue Reading St Joseph Post
Nov 06, 2019 2:34 AM
MEC releases 2019 All-Conference softball honors

1st Team Pitchers                                                   1st Team Infielders                        

**Kenzie Schopfer – Savannah                     Wynter Hurst - Benton

Maddy Jessen – Cameron                                 Kaia Calloway - Savannah

Makenzie Leake - Lafayette                             Ella Bruner - Savannah                                            

                                                                                       Kaycia Williamson - Lafayette                 

2nd Team Pitchers                                                 Abby Jones - Chillicothe              

Briley Gray - Maryville  

Halle Rucker - Chillicothe                                2nd Team Infielders                       

                                                                                      Lauren Widman – St. Pius X

1st Team Catchers                                                 Keylee Buxton - Benton

**Madde Graves- Savannah                          Liberty Williams - Cameron

Mika Hibner - Chillicothe                                Haley Noland - Savannah                         

                                                                                      Jori Winn - Lafayette

2nd Team Catchers                         

Riley Watkins – Maryville                               Honorable Mention Infielders

Arli Smith – Cameron                                       Ashlyn Alexander - Maryville

Ellie Wattenbarger - Lafayette                      Andee Magness - Benton                                         

                                                                                      Jordan Hibner - Chillicothe

Honorable Mention Catcher                           Shae Lewis – Bishop LeBlond

Jadynn Peters - Benton                                     Emma Tipton - Savannah

                                                                                      Taijha Davis - Savannah

First Team Outfielders                                      Sloan Lewis – Bishop LeBlond

**Sophia  Luetticke - Chillicothe                Elizabeth Witherow – St. Pius X

Brooke Graves - Savannah                              Bailey Stephan - Benton

Laini Joseph – Cameron                                   Abby Swink - Maryville


Second Team Outfielders                                                        

Lexi Epperson – St. Pius X

Kat Knapp - Lafayette

Payton Hirter – Savannah


Honorable Mention Outfielders

Jessica Finch – Maryville

Kaylence Cook – Savannah

Jenna Clough – Cameron

Janece Roach – Lafayette

Kennedy Corzette- Chillicothe


** Denotes Unanimous Selection