Mar 20, 2023

Chris Michaels and Kevin Bristol named Coach of the Year as MBCA all district awards announced

Posted Mar 20, 2023 8:37 PM


St. Joseph Post

All District honors for the basketball season have been awarded by the Missouri Basketball Coaches Association (MBCA) and among the winners are several St. Joseph students and coaches.  

For the Benton Cardinals girls' basketball team, it was a season to remember.  A 27-4 record, a second-place finish at the Class 4 Show Me Showdown, and now several all-district players and even a Coach of the Year.  

Benton Head Coach Chris Michaels was named by the MBCA as the Class 4 District 16 Coach of the Year, while Andrea Simmons, Kelsey Johnson, Eliana Arambula, and Peyton Anderson all earned all-district honors.  

Among other all district honors in Class 4 was Lafayette's Talicia Byrd.   

Central also saw two players earn all district honors in Class 6 as Lauren Wells and Charlize Broaden were honored as part of the all-district team.  

On the boy's side, Lafayette also saw Kevin Bristol receive Coach of the Year honors, while Senior and Missouri Western commit Camden Bennett earned Player of the Year honors.  

On the Class 4 District 16 all district team was Bennett as well as Lafayette's Mikey Thomas.  The Benton boys also had two boys featured, Denver Domann and Myles Bachali